There are a number of bills pending that would change gun rights in states covered by the Midsouth Gun Lawyer. Here are a few.
- To permit the unlicensed concealed carry of a handgun by all law-abiding citizens with or without a permit who are 21 and older, except in current restricted areas; The bill would also:
- Increase the penalty for theft of a firearm to a felony;
- Provide a sentencing enhancement for theft of a firearm in a car;
- Increase the minimum sentence for theft of a firearm from 30 days to 180 days;
- Increase the sentence for unlawful possession of a firearm by violent felons and felony drug offenders, possession of a handgun by a felon, and unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile or allowing a juvenile to possess a handgun.
Allow campus carry by students who are at least 21-years-old and have an enhanced handgun carry permit.
- House Bill 39 and Senate Bill 47: Lifetime Carry Permit
- House Bill 308 creates a “repository” of all concealed carry permits, along with the personal information of permit holders, to be administered by the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office.
- HB 166
Allows a person who has been convicted of a nonviolent felony to possess a firearm, knife, metallic knuckles, blackjack, or suppressor in such person’s residence or motor vehicle, IF the person is able to prove that he or she resides in the home or owns the motor vehicle in which the item is located.
- HB 1054 – provides for a $300 lifetime CCW license. [Tennessee already has this]
- HB 1217
Prohibits county and local officials from using any policy or practice to ban, delay, deny or impose additional entry requirements for concealed firearms or otherwise impede or “shadow” a license holder with a concealed firearm legally carrying on property under their control. [This is probably a result of a tort claim notice that has been sent to the Harrison county sheriff]
- SB 2082
Prohibits shooting firearms within 1,000 feet of a residence, school or church, with some shooting range exceptions. Punishment up to $5,000 and 10 years in prison. In other words, you can’t shoot a gun most places in Mississippi. [This is a horrible bill]
- SB 2167
Requires microstamping of centerfire rifle and pistol cartridge cases. [Another stupid bill]
- SB 2173
Specifically authorizes folks with enhanced CCW licenses to carry on educational property and allows folks aged 18-20 to obtain a CCW license if they have also met the enhanced CCW criteria.