- Licensed Carry
Mississippi is a “shall issue” state, meaning that an applicant who meets all statutory criteria must be issued a license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver or stun gun.  Licenses are good for a period of five years and may be renewed through the mail every other renewal period. The cost is $80 plus an additional $32 for fingerprinting. Renewals cost $40 plus fingerprint charges. A license may be suspend upon arrest or formal charge of a crime which would disqualify such person from having a license until the case is resolved, and will be revoked if the licensee becomes disqualified under this or another provision.
The basic criteria for issuance of concealed weapon license are: at least twelve months residency (subject to exceptions); at least twenty-one years of age (military members and veterans are eligible at eighteen); no physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a stun gun, pistol or revolver; no felony convictions; not a chronic or habitual user of controlled substances or alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired; desire for legal means to carry concealed weapon in defense; not mentally incompetent; no adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony in the preceding three years; not a fugitive; and not disqualified from possession of weapon under federal law.
Licensees must carry the license at all times as the weapon, and apparently also an additional form of identification. Licensees must notify the Department of Public Safety, in writing, within thirty days of any change in permanent address or loss of the license. Licensees’ name, home address, telephone number, and other private information are exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act except upon court order.
Any person having a concealed carry license issued under Miss. Code Ann. § 45-9-101 “who has voluntarily completed an instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms offered by an instructor certified by a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers firearms training, or by any other organization approved by the Department of Public Safety” or is a veteran who “completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns” may obtain an endorsement to their license which significantly reduces the number of locations which are off limits, and even restricts the ability of public bodies to make public property under their control off limits.