Reciprocity

Tennessee law recognizes a facially valid handgun permit, firearms permit, weapons permit or license issued by any other state. However, this reciprocity of other states’ permits authorizes the individual to carry only a handgun in Tennessee. An out of state permit holder must have their permit in their possession at all times while carrying in Tennessee. If a person holding an out of state permit becomes a resident of Tennessee, they must apply for a Tennessee permit within six months. The permit may be issued based on the person having a permit from another state, relieving the individual of complying with Tennessee license requirements, but only if the other state has substantially similar permit eligibility requirements as Tennessee. The following states recognize Tennessee handgun permits:  

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado (does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits)
  • Delaware
  • Florida (does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits)
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska (does not honor 18-20 year old permits)
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota (does not honor 18-20 year old permits)
  • Oklahoma
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania (does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits)
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia (does not honor 18-20 year old permits or non-resident permits)
  • Wisconsin (does not honor 18-20 year old permits)
  • Wyoming