HB 166 Allows a person who has been convicted of a nonviolent felony to possess a firearm, knife, metallic knuckles, blackjack, or suppressor in such person’s residence or motor vehicle, IF the person is able to prove that he or she resides in the home or owns the motor vehicle in which the item is located.
HB 1054 – provides for a $300 lifetime CCW license. [Tennessee already has this]
HB 1217 Prohibits county and local officials from using any policy or practice to ban, delay, deny or impose additional entry requirements for concealed firearms or otherwise impede or “shadow” a license holder with a concealed firearm legally carrying on property under their control. [This is probably a result of a tort claim notice that has been sent to the Harrison county sheriff]
SB 2082 Prohibits shooting firearms within 1,000 feet of a residence, school or church, with some shooting range exceptions. Punishment up to $5,000 and 10 years in prison. In other words, you can’t shoot a gun most places in Mississippi. [This is a horrible bill]
SB 2167 Requires microstamping of centerfire rifle and pistol cartridge cases. [Another stupid bill]
SB 2173 Specifically authorizes folks with enhanced CCW licenses to carry on educational property and allows folks aged 18-20 to obtain a CCW license if they have also met the enhanced CCW criteria.